Find a Supervisor

The list of WACH program supervisors will be added to continually.

If you would like to be added to a mailing list for updates, please email Natalie Twohey, WACH Program Manager.

Ali Amid
https://www.bcchr.ca/aamid
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Hematology, red blood cells disorders, bleeding disorders, clotting disorders, iron metabolism
Email: ali.amid@cw.bc.ca

Michael Anglesio
https://www.vchri.ca/researchers/michael-anglesio
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Gynecological cancer, endometriosis, microenvironment, model systems, genomic pathology, molecular biology, cancer prevention
Email: m.anglesio@ubc.ca

Hamideh Bayrampour
https://bcchr.ca/hbayrampour
Department of Family Practice
Research interests: Maternal mental health, anxiety, and pregnancy outcomes
Email: hamideh.bayrampour@ubc.ca

Mohamed Bedaiwy
https://whri.org/staff/mohamedbedaiwy/ 
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Endometriosis, recurrent pregnancy loss, fertility preservation in cancer patients, infertility, laparoscopy
Email: mohamed.bedaiwy@cw.bc.ca

Alexander Beristain
https://bcchr.ca/our-research/researchers/results/Details/alexander-g-beristain
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Trophoblast biology and human placentation
Email: aberista@mail.ubc.ca

Julie Bettinger
https://www.bcchr.ca/jbettinger; https://www.spph.ubc.ca/person/julie-bettinger/
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Vaccines, immunization, vaccine safety, infectious diseases, vaccine preventable disease, epidemiology, vaccine hesitancy, behavioral science
Email: jbettinger@bcchr.ubc.ca

Lori Brotto
https://www.vchri.ca/researchers/lori-brotto; https://brottolab.med.ubc.ca/
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Women’s sexual health; mindfulness-based treatments; sexual desire; sexual psychophysiology; psychosocial oncology; asexuality
Email: lori.brotto@vch.ca

Kelly Brown
http://www.kbrownlab.ca/
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Inflammation, immune-mediated inflammatory diseases, childhood vasculitis, neutrophils, biomarkers
Email: kbrown@bcchr.ca

Mariana Brussoni
https://brussonilab.ca/
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Child development, outdoor play, risky play, injury prevention
Email: mbrussoni@bcchr.ubc.ca

Tamara Cohen
https://nutritioneatingbehaviour.landfood.ubc.ca/
Department of Food, Nutrition and Health
Research interests: Nutrition and diet, childhood obesity, lifestyle behaviour interventions, gestational weight gain, dietetics
Email: tamara.cohen@ubc.ca

Anita Coté
https://www.twu.ca/profile/anita-cot%C3%A9
School of Human Kinetics, Trinity Western University; Affiliate Investigator, BC Children's Hospital
Research interests: Cardiovascular function, exercise, women’s cardiovascular health, young athlete’s heart, ventricular-vascular interactions
Email: anita.cote@bcchr.ca

Geoffrey Cundiff*
https://obgyn.ubc.ca/person/geoffrey-cundiff/; https://whri.org/staff/geoffrey-cundiff/; https://www.cheos.ubc.ca/team-member/geoffrey-william-cundiff/?teamCat=55
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Research interests: Prevention of maternal obstetrical trauma, patient centered outcomes, outcomes research for pelvic floor disorders, surgical education, and epidemiology of pelvic floor disorders
Email: geoff.cundiff@ubc.ca

*Dr. Cundiff is not currently recruiting graduate students.

Sharon Dell
https://www.bcchr.ca/sdell
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Primary ciliary dyskinesia, asthma, respiratory epidemiology, diagnostic testing, health related quality of life, genotype-phenotype relationships
Email:
sharon.dell@cw.bc.ca

Angela Devlin
https://bcchr.ca/adevlin
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: 
Nutrition, developmental programming, childhood diabetes, vascular disease
Email:
adevlin@bcchr.ubc.ca

Quynh Doan
https://www.bcchr.ca/qdoan
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Health services research, pediatric emergency medicine, child and youth mental health, health systems and operations, point of care testing/screening
Email: qdoan@cw.bc.ca

Rajavel Elango
https://bcchr.ca/relango
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Nutrition, protein and amino acid requirements, and metabolism during pregnancy
Email: relango@bcchr.ubc.ca

Nichole Fairbrother
https://parlab.med.ubc.ca/our-team/
Department of Family Practice
Research interests: Perinatal mental health, perinatal anxiety disorders, new mothers’ thoughts of infant-related harm, perinatal obsessive-compulsive disorder, fear of childbirth
Email: nichole.fairbrother@ubc.ca

Roxana Geoffrion
https://obgyn.ubc.ca/person/roxana-geoffrion/
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Emailrgeoffrion@providencehealth.bc.ca
Research interests: Surgical optimization, patient outcomes following pelvic floor surgeries, pelvic pain, surgical education, patient education

Ruth Grunau
https://bcchr.ca/rgrunau 
Department of Pediatrics
Email: rgrunau@bcchr.ca
Research interests: Preterm infants, developmental programming, pain, stress, cognition, behavior

Gillian Hanley
https://www.bcchr.ca/ghanley
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Research interests: Ovarian cancer research, gynecologic cancer research, prescription drug use during pregnancy
Email: gillian.hanley@vch.ca

Kevin Harris
https://www.bcchr.ca/kcharris
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Congenital heart disease, preventive cardiology, vascular health, cardiac catheterization
Email: kharris2@cw.bc.ca

David Huntsman
https://www.bccrc.ca/dept/mo/labs/huntsman-lab
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Research interests: Diagnostics, biologically informed prevention, cell context specific treatment strategies for ovarian cancers
Email: dhuntsma@bccancer.bc.ca

Jennifer Hutcheon
https://www.bcchr.ca/jhutcheon
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Perinatal epidemiology, maternal and child health, epidemiologic methods, health policy, health services
Email: jhutcheon@bcchr.ca

Patricia Janssen
https://www.bcchr.ca/pjanssen
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, School of Population and Public Health
Research interests: Perinatal epidemiology, maternal child health, population health, randomized controlled trials, midwifery, labour management, mobile health for parenting education, perinatal outcomes of Indigenous women
Email: patti.janssen@ubc.ca

K.S. Joseph
https://bcchr.ca/kjoseph 
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, School of Population and Public Health
Research interests: Maternal, fetal, and infant health services research
Email: kjoseph@cw.bc.ca

Emily Kieran
https://www.bcchr.ca/ekieran
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Preterm and newborn infants, complex medical needs, community transition, enhanced communication
Email: emily.kieran@cw.bc.ca

Yvonne Lamers
https://vitamins.landfood.ubc.ca/
Department of Food, Nutrition and Health
Research interests: Maternal nutrition from preconception to postpartum, toddler nutrition, neurodevelopmental outcomes, nutritional biomarker assessment, nutrition-gut microbiome-brain axis
Email: yvonne.lamers@ubc.ca

Pascal Lavoie
https://www.bcchr.ca/plavoie
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Infant and newborn development, immune ontogeny and infections, COVID-19 vaccine and transmission in schools
Email: plavoie@bcchr.ca

Peter Leung*
https://www.bcchr.ca/pcleung
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Reproductive and placental endocrinology
Email: peter.leung@ubc.ca

*Dr. Leung is not currently recruiting graduate students.

James Lim
https://bcchr.ca/jlim
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Childhood cancer, molecular and cellular biology, cell signaling, cell adhesion and migration in disease
Email: c.james.lim@ubc.ca

Sarka Lisonkova
https://www.bcchr.ca/slisonkova
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Severe maternal morbidity, preterm birth, perinatal health
Email: slisonkova@bcchr.ca

Catrina Loucks
https://www.bcchr.ca/cloucks
Department of Pediatrics & Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Research interests: Pharmacogenomics, pain management, childhood cancer treatment, drug-related toxicities, genetic testing
Email: cloucks@popi.ubc.ca

Christopher Maxwell
https://bcchr.ca/maxwell-lab
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Childhood cancer, cell division, hereditary breast cancer, cell migration
Email: cmaxwell@bcchr.ubc.ca

Steven Miller*
https://www.bcchr.ca/spmiller
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Neonatal neurology, brain injury, white matter, preterm birth, congenital heart disease
Email: steven.miller@cw.bc.ca

*Dr. Miller is not currently recruiting graduate students.

Kimberly Morishita
https://www.bcchr.ca/kmorishita
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Childhood rheumatic diseases, vasculitis, juvenile arthritis, uveitis, outcomes
Email: KMorishita@cw.bc.ca

Sarah Munro
http://www.sarahmunro.ca/
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Knowledge translation, implementation science, shared decision making, family planning, access to care, Indigenous health
Email: sarah.munro@ubc.ca

Wendy Norman
https://cart-grac.ubc.ca/; https://research.familymed.ubc.ca/wendy-norman/
Department of Family Practice
Research interests: Family planning health services and policy research, sexual health and preconception surveillance and indicator development, continuing professional development and support tools for providers of abortion and contraception
Email: wendy.norman@ubc.ca

Tim Oberlander
https://www.bcchr.ca/toberlander
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Developmental effects of prenatal psychotropic medication exposure, pharmacoepidemiology and child development, pain and children with developmental disabilities
Email: toberlander@bcchr.ca

Ian Pike
https://www.bcchr.ca/ipike
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Injury prevention, child and youth, indigenous, road safety, injury indicators, social marketing
Email: ipike@bcchr.ca

Manon Ranger, she/her/elle
https://www.bcchr.ca/mranger
School of Nursing, and Department of Pediatrics
Investigator, Healthy Starts, BC Children's Hospital Research Institute
Research interests: Brain development, prematurity, early-stress, pain, translational research
Email: Manon.Ranger@ubc.ca

Alexander Rauscher*
https://www.bcchr.ca/arauscher
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Neuroimaging, quantitative MRI, brain mapping, machine learning
Email: rauscher@physics.ubc.ca

*Dr. Rauscher is interested in serving as a co-supervisor for students whose projects have a neuroimaging component, and/or may consider students with an interest in imaging and undergraduate training in physics or related field.

Gregor Reid
https://www.bcchr.ca/greid
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests: Childhood cancer, leukemia, immunology, mouse models, personalized medicine
Email: grogreid@mail.ubc.ca

Wendy Robinson
http://robinsonresearch.ca/
Department of Medical Genetics
Research interests: Genetics, epigenetics, placenta, fetal development, sex
Email: wrobinson@bcchr.ca

Manish Sadarangani
https://www.bcchr.ca/msadarangani; https://www.bcchr.ca/vec
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Childhood immunization, clinical trials, ear infections, meningitis, pneumonia, sepsis
Email: msadarangani@bcchr.ubc.ca

Shubhayan Sanatani*
https://www.bcchr.ca/ssanatani
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Pediatric and inherited arrhythmias, autonomic nervous system, sudden cardiac death
Email: ssanatani@cw.bc.ca 

*Dr. Sanatani is not currently recruiting graduate students.

Laura Sly
https://www.bcchr.ca/lsly
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Inflammatory bowel disease, inflammation, macrophages, macrophage activation, cell signaling (PI3K and SHIP)
Email:
laura.sly@ubc.ca

Ted Steiner
https://www.bcchr.ca/tsteiner
Department of Medicine
Research interests:
Infectious diseases, inflammatory bowel disease, T cells, intestinal immunology
Email:
tsteiner@mail.ubc.ca

Aline Talhouk
https://bmiai.ubc.ca/people/aline-talhouk
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests:
Epidemiology, prevention, gynecological cancer, machine learning, digital health
Email:
a.talhouk@ubc.ca

Bruce Vallance
https://www.bcchr.ca/vallance-lab
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Inflammatory bowel disease, enteric infections, microbiology, microbiome, organoids, mucus, nutrition
Email: 
bvallance@cw.bc.ca

Bruce Verchere
https://www.bcchr.ca/bverchere
Twitter: @bruceverchere
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Department of Surgery
Research interests:
Childhood diabetes
Email:
bverchere@bcchr.ca

Dzung Vo
https://www.bcchr.ca/dvo
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Adolescents, resilience, mindfulness, coping, chronic illness, eating disorders, substance use disorders, chronic pain, somatization
Email: 
dvo@cw.bc.ca

Christine Voss*
https://smp.med.ubc.ca/about/contact/christine-voss/; https://www.bcchr.ca/cvoss
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Physical activity, wearables, chronic disease management, congenital heart disease, rural/remote health
Email:
christine.voss@ubc.ca

*Dr. Voss is based at the Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, Kelowna BC.

Alexander Weber
https://www.bcchr.ca/aweber; https://weberlab.github.io/
Department of Pediatrics
Research interests:
Magnetic resonance imaging, neuroimaging, brain, neonatal health
Email: aweber@bcchr.ca

Matthew Wiens
https://www.bcchr.ca/mwiens
Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
Research interests:
Pediatric sepsis, global health, prediction modelling, epidemiology, post-discharge outcomes research
Email:
matthew.wiens@bcchr.ca

David Wright
https://www.bcchr.ca/dwright
School of Kinesiology, and Faculty of Land and Food Systems
Research interests:
Exercise, obesity, metabolic side effects of antipsychotics, energy expenditure, nutrition
Email: david.wright@ubc.ca

Paul Yong
https://yonglab.med.ubc.ca/
Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Research interests: Endometriosis, pelvic pain, reproduction, dyspareunia, sexual medicine
Email: pyong@cw.bc.ca